"Google says my net worth is €22.5m but I’m not quite sure which bank account that’s in"

Photo by Kai Wenzel on Unsplash

"Google says my net worth is €22.5m but I’m not quite sure which bank account that’s in"

Leah Barniville, a former semi-finalist on Britain's Got Talent, is currently performing in the pantomime "Treasure Island" at The Helix in Dublin, running from Friday, November 24th to Sunday, January 14th.

Saver or spender? In my early 20s, I consider myself a diligent saver for my age. I don't indulge in excessive drinking, and I often prefer quiet nights in over nights out. I'm a workaholic, and the majority of my spending is directed towards investments in my business and career development. That being said, I can't resist the occasional shopping spree at Zara.

Do you seek better value when shopping? Yes, I do, within reason and convenience. I prioritize quality over quantity and aim to purchase items with the intent of reusing them. I feel a responsibility toward the environment to avoid unnecessary or disposable purchases.

What's the most extravagant purchase you've made, and how much did it cost? My most significant expenditures have been on home studio equipment and professional studio time for recording and producing my music.

What's your best value-for-money purchase? High-quality gym attire. Investing in comfortable gym wear makes early morning workouts, whether at the gym or outdoors, much more enjoyable.

During Covid-19 restrictions, did you prefer online or local shopping? I leaned toward online shopping during the pandemic. It changed my perspective on in-person shopping. I hadn't realized how chaotic and disorganized physical stores could be. I appreciate the convenience of quickly finding and purchasing what I need online. Whenever possible, I try to support Irish businesses.

Do you negotiate prices? I negotiate prices only when I believe something is significantly overpriced. I'm mindful of not undervaluing someone's product or service. As a singer/performer, I often face requests to work for little or no pay, which isn't sustainable for covering my bills. Therefore, I'm cautious about seeking price reductions. If I can't afford something, I either shop elsewhere or save up for a longer time. W3 W3 W3 W3 W3 W3

How did the Covid-19 crisis affect your spending habits? As mentioned earlier, I increased my online shopping during the pandemic, almost on a weekly basis. I occasionally treated myself to boost my mood during the gloomy lockdown months. I also invested in building a home recording studio during the early months of lockdown.

Do you invest in stocks? No, but it's something I would like to explore. Thus far, my notable investments have been in my business and music career to advance my path as a recording artist and performer.

Cash or card? I primarily use cards. I seldom carry cash these days. However, I disagree with businesses that are card-only, as it can exclude individuals such as children and the elderly who may not possess cards or be comfortable with smartphones.

What was your last purchase, and was it good value for money? My recent purchase was enrolling in a fitness instructor course. Fitness is another significant passion of mine, and I find the mood boost after a workout to be indescribable. I wanted to ensure I'm exercising correctly in the gym to prevent injuries.

Have you successfully saved for a substantial purchase? I am currently saving for my first car, and I'm nearly there. It will be my most substantial purchase to date, and I'm looking forward to the satisfaction of achieving it through hard work.

Have you ever experienced financial loss? I have invested in musical projects that didn't go as planned, but I wouldn't consider it a loss since I've always gained knowledge and experience from these ventures.

Are you a gambler, and if so, have you ever had a significant win? No, I don't gamble, but I did win €300 at the Grand National at the Fairyhouse races on Easter Monday a few years ago.

Is money important to you? Isn't it important to everyone? I aspire to live a more than comfortable life and intend to continue working diligently to achieve that goal. As a fun fact, Google states my net worth is €22.5 million, although I'm unsure which bank account that resides in... Perhaps one day, I'll figure it out!

How much money do you have on you right now? I currently have €50 in cash in my purse. I'm about to head to the nail salon for a little treat after a busy week of work.